Our Team

Pat Herbst

Professor of Education and Mathematics

Pat is a professor of Education and Mathematics at Michigan. He studies the knowledge and rationality involved in teaching mathematics and the use of digital technologies to represent and communicate professional knowledge.

Amanda Milewski

Assistant Research Scientist

Amanda is a researcher at the University of Michigan that studies teachers’ instructional practices and innovative approaches for intervening in those practices through pd. She has a PhD in Mathematics Education and MA in Mathematics.

Srikanth Lavu

Application Developer

Srikanth has an MS in Computer Science. His work mainly involves designing and developing Software Applications for the GRIP team which are used for research studies.

Inese Berzina-Pitcher

Project Manager

Inese manages GRIP Lab research projects, which including planning and organizing work, communicating with internal and external stakeholders, hiring staff, organizing events, recruiting research participants. 

Inah Ko

Postdoctoral Researcher

Inah has a PhD in mathematics education and MA and MS in statistics and applied mathematics. Her research interests lie in mathematical knowledge for teaching and quantitative research methods in educational studies.

Irma Stevens

Postdoctoral Researcher

Irma Stevens is a postdoc who earned her Ph.D. in Mathematics Education and MA in Mathematics at the University of Georgia. Her main research interests are understanding students’ meanings for formulas when reasoning about dynamic situations and teachers’ decision making about mathematical tasks.

Michael Ion

Research Assistant

Mike Ion is a Ph.D. candidate in mathematics education at the University of Michigan. His research interests include conceptions in calculus, online learning, measurement, and natural language processing.

Scott Bridges

Research Assistant

Scott Bridges is a mathematics education Ph.D. student at the University of Michigan. His research interests include teacher decision making in the face of competing obligations.

Bruno Herbst

Jr Application Developer

Bruno is a senior at the University of Michigan in the College of Engineering and is majoring in Computer Science. He works under Srikanth on the development of software applications for the Grip team which are used for research studies.

Erica Pauline Santos

Jr Application Developer

Erica is a sophomore in the College of Engineering. She’s studying Mechanical Engineering and minoring in Computer Science, with a concentration in the Program of Sustainable Engineering. She works as Jr App Developer at the lab. 

Tottionna Bushell

Research Assistant

Tottiona is a junior at the University of Michigan and is majoring in Statistics.

Andrew Spiteri

Research Assistant

Andrew Spiteri is a freshman at the University of Michigan in the Honors Program. He recently joined as a UROP student and is primarily focusing on the T4D project. 

Alan Zhang

Jr Application Developer

Alan is a senior at the University of Michigan in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts and is majoring in Computer Science. He works on the database application used to catalogue metadata.

Carolyn Hetrick

Postdoctoral Researcher

 Carolyn is a postdoctoral researcher who earned her Ph.D. in Educational Foundations and Policy at the University of Michigan. Carolyn’s research interests involve leveraging critical qualitative methodologies to support community-based education initiatives and advocacy efforts. Through her work with the GRIP Lab, Carolyn participates in qualitative inquiry about instructors’ practical rationalities.

Past GRIP Team Members

Kayin Aaron · Wendy Rose Aaron · Enes Akbuga · Darrell Allen · Emanuele Bardelli · Stephen Bizer · Heather Bleecker · Eszter Boldog · Chandler Brown · Jeong Lim Chae · Chia-Ling Chen · Vu Minh Chieu · Justin Dimmel · Maranda Discenna · Ander Erickson · Erin Fedeson · Felice Gonzales · Gloriana Gonzáles · Umut Gursel · Kristi Hanby · Carolyn Hetrick · Hui-Yu (Angela) Hsu · Karl W. Kosko · Yungchi (Jack) Lin · Claudine Margolis · Manu Mehrotra · Takeshi Miyakawa · Joel Maidens · Talli Nachlieli · Annick Rougee · Mollee Shultz · Travis Skindzier · Rachel Snider · Mindy Steffen · Natalie Suh · Michael Weiss · Jack Zaloga · Jinzhi (Bella) Zhou · Skylar Pitcher · Michael Green · Nicolas Boileau