Events

 

GeT Seminars

GRIP Lab at University of Michigan provides infrastructure for the GeT: A Pencil community and organizes the GeT: A Pencil online seminars. These free, interactive seminars are an opportunity to exchange knowledge and information among community members and colleagues.

More About GeT


Upcoming Seminars

 

Investigation sequences in dynamic geometry for a GeT course: the case of similarity

Friday, December 10, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Dr. Orly Buchbinder

Read More

Past Seminars

 

The Teaching and Learning of Geometric Proof: Roles of the Textbook and the Teacher

Friday, November 12, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Dr. Mara Markinson

Read More

 

Making Advanced Mathematics Work for Secondary Teacher Education

Friday, October 29, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Dr. Yvonne Lai

Read More

 

Dynamic Geometry Tasks to Promote Reasoning in Geometry

Friday, October 22, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Dr. Karen Hollebrands

Read More

 

GeT SLO’ing: An Exploration Incorporating the GeT Student Learning Objectives (SLOs)

Friday, October 8, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Erin Krupa

Read More

 

Including Pedagogy in a Geometry for Teachers Course

Friday, September 24, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Sharon Vestal

Read More

 

Introduction to FullProof – Computer based environment for teaching and learning deductive geometric proofs.

Friday, May 14, 2021
8:00am PT | 9:00am MT | 10:00am CT | 11:00am ET
Presenter: Chaim Ballin

Read More

 

Teaching with Ethnomathematics: Power Curves to the People

Friday, April 30, 2021
12:00pm PT | 1:00pm MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET
Presenter: Ron Eglash

Read More

 

Geometry in the Common Core State Standards

Friday, March 26, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: William McCallum

Read More

 

How to Build Basic Logic on the Foundation of Mathematical Categories and Language

Friday, March 12, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Paul Christian Dawkins

Read More

 

The geometry of sunlight: An examination of naturally occurring parallel lines and the mathematical investigations they inspire

Friday, February 19, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Justin Dimmel

Read More

 

Transformational geometry, one part of transforming geometry instruction

Friday, January 29, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Henri Picciotto

Read More

 

Secondary Geometry for Mathematicians and Educators

Friday, January 15, 2021
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Michael Weiss

Read More

 

Diagrams in Euclidean Geometry: Logical, Philosophical, and Pedagogical Considerations

Friday, November 13, 2020
12:00pm PT | 1:00pm MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET
Presenter: Nathaniel Miller

Read More

 

Animated Contrasting Cases in Geometry (AC2inG): The Design of New Geometry Curricular Modules

Friday, November 6, 2020
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenters: Erin Krupa, Brianna Bentley, & JP Mannix

Read More

 

What geometry should secondary teachers learn, and what geometry should they teach?

Friday, October 30, 2020
12:00pm PT | 1:00pm MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET
Presenter: Emina Alibegovic

Read More

 

Actively Building Geometry from the Ground Up

Friday, October 9, 2020
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Henry Escuadro

Read More

 

Reporting on the MKT-G Results from the Geometry for Teachers (GeT) Students

Friday, September 25, 2020
12:00pm PT | 1:00pm MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET
Presenters: Mike Ion & Inah Ko

Read More

 

Experiencing Hyperbolic Geometry

Friday, April 17, 2020
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET
Presenter: Mary Shepherd

Read More

 

Geometry and the Visual Arts: What can we learn from teachers’ perspectives about textbook problems?

Friday, March 12, 2020
1:00pm PT | 2:00pm MT | 3:00pm CT | 4:00pm ET
Presenters: Gloriana González & Christine Rinkenberger

Read More