GeT Seminar — March 12th

 

Reporting on the MKT-G Results from the GeT Students

Friday, March 12
1:00 pm PT | 2:00 pm MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00 pm ET
Presenters: Gloriana González & Christine Rinkenberger

Summary: In this seminar Gloriana González and Christine Rinkerberger will share teachers’ perspectives about geometry problems that are situated in visual arts contexts. They will engage the participants to consider geometry teachers’ knowledge of students, mathematics, and pedagogy that they bring to bear in their evaluations of textbook problems. The aim of this seminar is to discuss how to support teachers in adapting or designing problems situated in visual arts contexts for their students in relation to major goals of the geometry course.

Registration: Closed

Duration: 60 minutes

Format: Online seminar via BlueJeans web meeting software with questions and discussion. Detailed instructions for joining the seminar will be emailed to registered participants.

Presenters:

Gloriana González is an Associate Professor of Mathematics Education at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She teaches mathematics methods courses and graduate courses in mathematics education. She has prior experience teaching high school geometry in Massachusetts and Puerto Rico. A graduate from the University of Michigan, she was one of the earliest members of the GRIP Lab. With the support of a Campus Research Board Award from the University of Illinois, she is currently investigating the use of visual arts as a context for teaching geometry.
Christine Rinkenberger is the Interim Assistant Principal at Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School in Urbana, IL. Previously, she was the co-department chair of the mathematics department and instructional coach at Urbana High School. In addition, she has taught a variety of math courses at the high school level.